Critic and Artist Residency Series

Mauro Giaconi CARS story and studio at the museum


The Critic and Artist Residency Series, founded in 1997, brings prominent artists, critics, and curators to the Colorado State University campus for public lectures, open forums, classroom visits, critiques, and exhibitions.

This project, part of the Critic and Artist Residency Series, is made possible by the FUNd at CSU, and by a grant from the City of Fort Collins Fort Fund.


Mauro GiaconiSpatial Flux: Contemporary Drawings from the JoAnn Gonzalez Hickey Collection
May 29- Sept 22, 2018
The Griffin Foundation Gallery and Works on Paper Gallery

Mauro Giaconi, artist talk
Friday, September 21, 2018
5:00 P.M.
Dance Theater | University Center for the Arts
Reception to follow

Giaconi’s work takes place in the field of sculpture, installation and mainly drawing, which operates as the heart of all his production and starting point to generate spatial interventions and imagery that moves across  the aesthetics of chaos and procedural investigation. Architecture, structure, memory and environment are all key elements in the artist’s practice, which focuses on proposing experiences that build tension between opposite concepts like construction and destruction; birth and death; confinement and freedom; depth and surface; dream and awakening.



Exhibition and Artist Talk

POMPEII ARCHIVE: Recent Photographs by William Wylie
Jan 16 - Apr 21, 2018


Exhibition and Artist Talk
CASE STUDY: Weld County, CO
Oct 5 - Dec 15, 2017

The Griffin Foundation Gallery


Artist Talk 
Material Decisions: Women, Process, and Form

Spring 2017

Patrick Nagatani Lecture with Photography students

Patrick Nagatani - Fall 2016

Tom Waldron - Fall 2016

Shaun Leonardo – Fall 2015


Courtney Egan – Fall 2014

Paul Greenhalgh – Spring 2013

De Wain Valentine – Fall 2012

David Pagel – Spring 2011

Amy Yoes, Catalyst, Installation 2010

Amy Yoes – Spring 2010


Mel Chin – Spring 2009

Bin Danh – Spring 2008

Nancy Princenthal – Fall 2006

Alan Rath – Spring 2005

Reverend Ethan Acres – Spring 2003

Laurie Fendrich – Fall 2002

Helaine Posner – Spring 2001

Eleanor Heartney – Spring 2000

Tim Rollins & K.O.S. – Spring 1999

Christopher Knight – Spring 1999

Byron Kim – Spring 1998